Dennis Dyck


Dennis Dyck, PhD

Vice Chancellor

Dennis Dyck was named associate dean of research for WSU Spokane in 2001, becoming vice chancellor and associate vice provost for research in 2005. In these capacities, Dyck coordinates the development of research collaborations among WSU departments in Pullman and Spokane and also develops research partnerships with Spokane's health sciences community.

Dyck is a professor of psychology; from 1991 to 2003, he served as the director of the Washington Institute for Mental Illness Research and Training (Eastern Branch).

He holds adjunct professor appointments in the WSU Neurosciences Program and College of Pharmacy and the University of Washington Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences. He also sits on the Washington Technology Center Board, as well as the Northwest Association for Biomedical Research Board.

Dyck received his BA from Fresno Pacific College in 1969, his MA from Pepperdine University in 1970, and his PhD from the University of Oklahoma in 1973, all in psychology. Prior to coming to Washington State University in 1991, Dyck was professor of psychology at the University of Manitoba and director of the Clinical Psychology Training Program.

His research interests include stress, health, and behavior, and interactive relationships among individual differences in behavior, lifestyle, and health. He has completed two clinical trials in mental health and substance treatment funded by the National Institute of Health. Dyck is also an active investigator on the federally funded project to adapt family-based interventions for veterans with traumatic brain injury.

Dyck's work has appeared in close to 100 scientific journal articles and book chapters, and he has acted as a principal and co-principal investigator for federal, state, and private foundation grants. During his tenure as director, the Washington Institute at WSU received approximately fifteen million dollars in competitive grants and contracts.

Dyck received the RH Research Institute Award in the Social Sciences in 1985 at the University of Manitoba and the Faculty Excellence Award at Washington State University Spokane in 1994.