Staff recognized with excellence and service awards

WSU Spokane

WSU Spokane recognized staff members with excellence and service awards this morning, including the entire grounds crew for its excellent work in keeping the campus nice and tidy.

The Administrative Professional Employee Excellence Award went to Renae Richter of the WSU College of Nursing. Richter was described as a “fantastic ambassador” for the college by her nominators, as well as someone who shows appreciation for the work of others.

The Civil Service Staff Excellence Award went to Jessica Gerdes in the WSU College of Medicine. It’s been an eventful time in the College of Medicine, and Gerdes was responsible for helping to coordinate a number of high-stakes meetings both in Spokane and across the state as the university worked to gain support for its medical school. Gerdes’ nominators noted her passion for people to take care of themselves as just one reason why she was deserving of this award.

A new award this year was given to a deserving department, group or committee. The inaugural award went to the grounds crew at WSU Spokane, because get a look at this:

WSU Spokane

And this….

WSU Spokane

And this…

WSU Spokane

And this…

WSU Spokane

The grounds crew dealt with keeping the campus clean after last fall’s windstorm, as well as the snowfall that came just days later.

The members of this well-deserving group are Wes Kemper, Luke Klein, Kellee Elmenhurst, Brian Delong, Dean Brewer, Andrew Petersen, James Richter and Dave Reeves.

Staff members that have hit various service milestones were also recognized:

5 Years

Wes Kemper, Facilities and Operations
Matthew Blythe, Information Technology
Megan Barker, Nutrition and Exercise Physiology

10 Years

Cory Kittilstved, Facilities and Operations
Virginia Moran, Finance
Judith Van Dongen, Senior Vice Chancellor’s Office
Kim Mickey, Student Affairs

15 Years

Lorraine Nelson, Communications
Joanna Moznette, Student Affairs
Kristie Brink, Student Affairs

20 Years

Karla Ealy-Marroquin, Information Technology

25 Years

Carolyn Losh, Facilities and Operations

35 Years

Liz West, Student Affairs

View photos of all the winners